Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Old videos and some teenage attitude ;-)

with 6 comments

My dad gave me copies he made onto a DVD of old home videos he took when I was a kid.

I was very camera-shy as a teen, a fact which I bitterly regret now. My dad had his work cut out for him getting any decent footage of me. And now those videos are like precious gold. I would love to have more, but I have only myself to blame.

He took one exclusively of me playing a sonata on the piano, either Mozart or Beethoven, I’m not sure which. I have absolutely no recollection of it but it is a long and intricate piece of music and I played it by heart. Must have been an exam piece. Sjoe. I was impressed. And it was interesting to see by pre-MS piano playing. Now I have something to bench-mark my current playing against.

I have heard it said that we never appreciate our youth while we have it. Pretty true. My body was so strong and healthy back then. There are all these shots of me prancing around all over the place. And I was quite buff, from all the athletics, I guess. Calves like I would pay good money to own now, lol. A bit heftier, too. Not so fragile and skinny-looking as now. Also, without the muffin-top, hehehe.

I was so taken with the whole thing that I took a couple of photo’s of the video straight off the tv. (I do not have the converting equipment to do a proper job on the computer, so I thought I’d do a couple of DIY stills to share on my blog).

121020092185

Here I was all of 17. A split second of footage before I hid my face away. So silly. (BTW, that is not my middle finger,lol)

121020092187

Here we were on holiday and I had my nose in a book, as always. But just look at the sulky teenage face, lol.

121020092180

Home movies are so important. These are over 12 yrs old. We can’t remember detail like this. I remember now how I’d always wear my hair in a french plait and cut-off denim shorts.

121020092184

Feeding the seagulls chips at the wharf.

121020092178

With my mom and sister.

121020092176

Contemplating something in the water, obviously πŸ™‚

What wonderful memories. I got quite emotional watching the videos. I think I must say a huge thank you to my dad for taking them, especially since I was being so unco-operative,

Written by Maggie

October 12, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, so you have always been so cute (and hot) πŸ˜‰

    Pic 3 looks like Lara Croft!

    JaneW

    October 13, 2009 at 11:32 am

  2. Bless you, Jane πŸ™‚

    maggsbunny

    October 13, 2009 at 11:42 am

  3. And you are just getting prettier and prettier πŸ™‚

    Wegolf SA

    October 15, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  4. Wow Magdaleen Those are great memories. To be treasured and viewed in detail, like reading a new Dan Brown!

    Meldad

    October 16, 2009 at 5:00 am

  5. Love this! Gosh, you still look like that! Except the teenage attitude of course!

    supermom

    October 21, 2009 at 4:44 pm

  6. sjoe maggie, jy lyk nie ‘n dag ouer nie…..

    afrikafairy

    October 22, 2009 at 8:15 pm


Leave a Reply

