Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Rose cottage

leave a comment »

I used to have these really nice lace curtains for my living-room window.

They cost a fortune, as I recall, back when I was still working and earning decent money.

I bought the exquisite lace and my mom made them up into curtains for me, as I don’t possess a sewing-machine (and wouldn’t know what to do with one even if I did).

Enter Beary.

Now, she has never been a destructive dog. But dear Beary loves to jump up on the window sill and peep out to see what is going on outside in the communal courtyard of the complex we live in.

261220081300-001

Michael and I were so busy noticing how cute she was and how her tail doubled as an adorable curtain hook (lol) that we failed to notice that she was trashing my pride and joy lace curtains.

And by the time we did, her habit was entrenched in her and we didn’t have the heart to discipline it out of her.

The thing is, she wasn’t doing it on purpose. She’d just duck under the main curtains and put her paws on the window sill but unfortunately her claws got a bit caught up in the lace.

It got to the point where there was a large hole ripped in the material. We got home one day and discovered the curtain wrapped around Beary Bear. She was standing stock still, unable to move, she was so entangled in it. That was the point where I freaked out a bit and took down the curtains. I was scared she’d hang herself on them!

I could never understand how people could let their kids/ dogs wreck their furniture and fittings.

Now, while not exactly thinking it’s cute (I did ♥ those curtains) I can see how one could get to the point of not caring as much anymore about stuff like that.

Anyway.

We went for a couple months with no lace curtains with the result that the outer curtains had to be drawn closed the whole time, which I didn’t care for much. I was starting to feel like a vampire.

Wasn’t going to make the same mistake again, though, so went to town and bought this short café curtain which would be safely out of Bear Paws’ reach.

Only, when I hung it up, it looked ridiculously short. I asked my next-door neighbour’s opinion and she gave me the brilliant idea to get one of those brass curtain-rods that screw outwards against the wall, and just hang the curtain a little lower.

I did just that and it looks so cute.

To finish the look, I got three new rose-bushes (one of which is Harmonie) to stand just under the window. The whole thing looks distinctly ‘cottage-y’. I love it. Even more than the fancy lace curtains that preceded the whole affair.

Beary can jump up on the sill all she likes now without a hope of snaring the curtaining. She has to peek under it  now, which is the cutest thing I’ve seen in a long time 🙂

101020092154

Written by Maggie

October 21, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

