Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Quick pop in on BlogWorld…

with 2 comments

I have started working on one of my grade eight pieces, Chopin’s Grande Valse Brilliantine. So far, so good. I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to handle the virtuosity of grade 8 level. But as far as I can tell, the main difference between that and my old buddy, grade 7 is the workload, more than anything else. The Grand Waltz is 9 jam-packed pages of sheet-music. Yay! I only hope my fingers don’t drop off after I’ve finished playing that sucker in one sitting.

Actually, therein lies another story of me bragging about how much I have recovered, how much more stamina my fingers have than two years ago when I started this piano playing lark up again. How I only used to be able to play for about 15 mins before my fingers cramped and went all numb and cripple and cried for mercy. But how now they can go on for, like, forever. Well, until I need to take a bathroom break. I wish my bladder would get with the program like the rest of me!

On a less facetious note, I think playing the piano has been therapeutic to me on so many levels but especially in rehabilitating my fingers. There are a lot of theories about remyelination and how it needs to be stimulated by activity to repair. I actually do believe this, and I think this is what playing the piano has done for me.

I hope to sit the exam in May 2010. But shhhh! don’t tell my sister. She will lecture me on how that is nowhere near enough time to do it in.

I don’t care. I’m no spring-chicken anymore, I need to stay on a roll. She was 20 when she did her gr8. I will be thirty. I don’t have the luxury of taking my time on this one. I’ve lost too much already.

Anyway, so I reckon I’ll need 5  hours of practice a day. One hour for each of the 4 pieces, one hour for scales and one for sight-reading and practical musicianship (aural). Not to be confused with ‘oral’ as I was so fond of typing it previously 😛

The amount of work is easily double what it was for gr7, so best I get cracking. I’m doing quite well with the first movement of The Waltz. Maybe I can vlog about it soon. And I won’t even grin at the camera when I make a mistake. M’kay?

Edited to add:

WHOOPS. Good job I am not studying mathematics, because apparently I have trouble counting in multiples of one! Number of practice hours just does not add up to 5, no matter how you look at it. My bad ;-P

Written by Maggie

November 6, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw, I liked the smile!

    Sounds like a lot of work… good luck!

    Katie Alender

    November 6, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  2. I don’t see how any form of exercise could be bad for you!

    Angel

    November 17, 2009 at 10:17 pm


Leave a Reply

