Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

More bunny escapades…

with 3 comments

I wasn’t actually going to post anything more about the rabbit. I thought the story had been more or less told.

I’m actually worried that people are starting to think I’m making this sh*t up 🙂

But I’m not.

The past week has been uneventful. The rabbit does come past our front door every evening to get to our car, which is where it sleeps most nights, we’re starting to realise.

We know when its going past our door, because Teddy starts doing his super-bark and prancing around on his hind-legs like a kangaroo. The dogs are powerless to do anything, as we have a security gate on the front doorway, and the most Teddy can hope to do is to stick his head through the bars…

This is the view I have from inside, when the rabbit is lolloping past…

This pretty much sums up the week. The dogs start barking, I go and have a look, the rabbit is there etc.

Last night, I wanted to go and get some stuff from Spar before they closed at 8:30.

I’m a bit night blind, so I bribed Michael to drive me there.

We forgot to check for the rabbit.

We drove the 3 minute trip to Spar. I got out, while Michael stayed in the car. We parked under a streetlight so that M could do a rabbit check while I shopped, lest it had come with and got left at Spar, in the dark.

I finished up and got back to the car. Rummaged in the shopping bag for our ice-creams (it was inhumanely hot and humid last night!) and handed Michael his one. I asked if he’d seen the rabbit and he answered that he hadn’t. He’d bumped on the flap under the car and there was nothing.

So we started off home, chomping our ice-creams. We’d gone a little down the side-road we take to get home, and had accelerated to about 30/ 40 km/p, when there was bump and a thump, like we’d driven over something.

There was silence for a moment, and then Michael said, “It’s the rabbit. He jumped out of the car!”

He put the hazards on, stopped the car and we got out. (Luckily the road in question is a very quiet one, with only the occasional car coming by.

And sure enough, there sat the rabbit, licking its paw.

We spent the next twenty minutes or so trying to catch it. Luckily, the road is well lit and the rabbit had chosen to jump/ fall out from under the car right by a streetlamp. Otherwise, we would never have seen the black rabbit on the black road.

The rabbit was smart enough not to run into any of the gardens, where there were probably dogs. He was only running away half-heartedly. I think he wanted us to catch him, but not enough to make it too easy for us, lol.

Michael even backed up the car some so that the rabbit could get back on his perch and we could go home.

It got under the car at one point, but refused to get into its hidey-hole. It had probably not enjoyed its most recent experience involving the car!

For how long Michael and I would have jogged up and down the road after the rabbit, I have no idea, but luckily fate stepped in and another couple stopped next to us in their car to enquire if we were all right. When they realised what the situation was, they got out and helped us catch Lucky Bunny. With four people, we had him caught in no time.

We said goodbye and thank you very much to our new friends and drove home.

The owners of the rabbit were outside their house, packing for their trip to the sea today. They were nowhere near as excited as we were by the whole thing. I think they just take it for granted that this rabbit has these incredible adventures!

“Why are you such a naughty rabbit?” the old guy said fondly, as he cuddled the rabbit.

Our neighbour has gone to quite a bit of trouble to seal off their garden so that Lucky can’t get out, but obviously it isn’t working that well!

My dear mother-in-law had offered to keep Lucky in one of the cages of her aviary while his owners go on holiday. So I mentioned this to them last night, and they jumped at the idea.

Luckily, my in-laws live practically right across the road from us, so we were able to take Lucky there and get him settled in for the night. He seems quite at home there, and my MIL is great with animals, so he’ll be fine.

At least we can have a spot of peace now for a week or so, with no rabbit sneaking in our car at every turn!

Our neighbour said when he gets back home, he will put netting up along their fence to contain Lucky. I think it might take more than that, but we’ll see.

We can’t seal the entry hole into our car’s engine, because otherwise the engine will get no ventilation. So it’s a bit of a catch-22!

One last thing, before I sign off – last night involved yet another 2 miracles for Lucky. Firstly, that he didn’t get injured when he jumped out from under the car. We could so easily have driven over him, and secondly, that we happened to be going past a streetlamp when it happened, enabling Michael to see Lucky behind us in the road in his rear-view mirror.

Incredible.

And like I said to Michael’s parents – thanks for your hospitality.

To which Michael added, of course, and for your haaspitality 😉

(For my overseas readers, ‘haas’ is the Afrikaans word for ‘rabbit’, so this was a very clever pun.

I love Michael. Not only can he make clever puns, but he’s the only person I know who would spend 20 minutes chasing after a rabbit with me at night 😉

Written by Maggie

January 21, 2011 at 10:39 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This bunny has many many lives, that’s for sure!

    supermom

    January 23, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  2. If I didn’t see this I would also not believe it Maggie it is an amazing story. I think you should write a book about this bunny 🙂

    Mom

    January 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  3. Why did I not read this a month ago? This was a great story, and I love the detailed pictures. You are so funny, Maggie!

    Laura

    February 25, 2011 at 6:53 am


Leave a Reply

