Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Curly hair, anyone?

with 3 comments

My mom has this photo of me in her house. I think I was 18 at the time…

I don’t have a whole lot of photo’s of me at that age, willingly posed, as I was notoriously camera-shy. (Something I quickly got over once I married Michael, the family really likes taking photo’s, lol.)

Anyway, I took a photo of this photo (with my cellphone, naturally) so that explains the poor quality. I uploaded it onto the laptop and promptly forgot about it.

Then I got a phone call from Michael one morning while he was at work (with his laptop). “Who’s the cutie in the photo? Is it you?”

“Huh? What photo?”

There followed a description of the photo.

Next thing I know, the photo is on his desktop background and he is crushing on the 18 year old me.

One day, he asked me, “So when are you going to make your hair curly like in the photo again?”

First time ever Michael has made any suggestion whatsoever as to my physical appearance. I know he likes my hair long. Doesn’t mind it short but apparently prefers it long. And curly, it seems.

Too bad I have the straightest hair on the planet. Not so much as a kink in it.

The above photo was the result of a half grown-out spiral perm.

Unfortunately, with my severe chemical sensitivity, there is no way I am having another perm now. Plus it damages one’s hair, yadda yadda.

Plus, I kind of like the way it is now…

All was not lost, however.

I was messing around on Bid or Buy and came across these…

I bid on them, won the auction at R90 and soon they were winging their way to me.

When Michael saw the box, he laughed at me and said, “Will you never learn?”

I have been known to make some dodgy ‘tv special’ purchases, it is true.

But I was too excited to care. The rollers are in a long tube shape. You poke the ‘magic wand’ (which looks like an oversized crochet needle) through the tube, and then hook a strand of your hair and pull it back through the tube. The tube then ‘springs’ in a curl and when the whole ensemble is dry, the hair is curly. Voila!

Oh, my! On the first attempt, my hair got so jammed in that tube I thought I’d have to cut it off šŸ˜¦ Amid much cussing and tears (from me) and laughter (from Michael), I packed the damn things up in the box again and asked Michael why he always had to be right about everything!

Next day, we had a lunch date planned, so I thought, “What the hell”, and gave the rollers another try. This time I got a bit of a technique going and it went better. Michael looked suitably impressed when he saw me šŸ™‚ Unfortunately, the curls had fallen a bit flat by the time this photo was taken. Will have to practice to get it better šŸ™‚

 

Written by Maggie

October 21, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice! Curls suit you a lot…. if you are able to (from a chemical sensitivity point of view) put some mousse or gel on your hair before you curl. It should hold better and for longer.

    I think it is super sweet that your hubby’s wall paper ‘crush’ is YOU! šŸ™‚

    JaneF

    October 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

  2. I thought your hair looked so pretty that day! I think most men prefer long hair. Even my boys do!

    Melany

    October 23, 2011 at 9:40 pm

  3. Your hair looks lovely done with the curlers!
    I have the opposite problem to you, with long hair I always look like I have a half grown out 80’s spiral perm and I HATE it. My hair isn’t styled, it’s tamed!!!

    Sharon

    October 24, 2011 at 9:12 am


Leave a Reply

