Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Real food

with one comment

Michael and I have spoken lately about going more vegetarian in our diet. Better for one’s health and certainly better for the animals involved.

We’re not talking full-blown vegetarianism here (which I actually did do for three years, but anyway). Just a reduction of meat – maybe not every day. Two or three times a week.

I have been looking into some vegetarian meal options. On Saturday, I made a Mac & Cheese. Lots of milk and cheese went into it, but nothing died for it. Sunday, I made an omelet, same principle.

(I must just mention that omelet should have been nominated for best omelet of the year. It was light, fluffy and had in it as a filling cheese, tomato, green peppers and John West tuna. (Okay, so a tuna fish probably did die for that, my bad).

The next day, Michael cracked. When he realised that I was making a chickpea casserole for Meatless Monday, he said, (and I quote) “Ag no, I can’t take it anymore. I need real food! – I’m getting a Steers’ burger.”

This was not received with good grace by yours truly. In my defense, I had spent the last hour in the kitchen, steaming the chickpeas and dicing up my own hand grown kale (!!) and making a cheese and onion white sauce to put on it.

We had it for lunch, but Michael made no bones about the fact that he was having a Steer’s burger for supper. Real food.

I told him that the meal we had just eaten was probably the most nutricious thing that either of us had ingested all year. But good luck with the Steers’ burger.

I blame Steers’ advertising slogan: Real Food made Real Good.

Whatever!

Written by Maggie

October 25, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hhaha Steers … real food. Come to think of it, we do eat too much meat hey!? Dinners maybe not so much (here at home) but at Mom’s house we tend to have meat most days. Never thought of it that way. Sjoe

    Melany

    October 29, 2011 at 8:05 am


Leave a Reply

