Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Cold lunch on a hot day…

with 3 comments

Today was another hellishly hot day, with temperatures peaking in the high thirties.

I think we can safely say we are in the grip of a heatwave.

Ordinarily, I cook a lunch for us at about 12:30 or so. But today I told Michael there was no way I was standing in front of the stove to cook anything.

So we went to the supermarket down the road to get ingredients for a cold lunch. I suggested tuna and mayo on a bun. But Michael’s suggestion was way better, so we went with that…

Crispy white bread rolls, with cold roast beef, mustard, pickled gherkins, tomato slices and salad sprouts. (The salad sprouts, I grew myself, so please be impressed 😉 )

A taste sensation, I tell ya.

I had been craving ice-cream the whole morning, due to the stifling heat. So I made sure we bought a tub of Ola’s Vanilla, Chocolate and Caramel ice-cream.

I cannot remember the last time I enjoyed ice-cream this much. It literally cooled us down from the inside out…

In fact, we liked the whole meal so much, we had the exact same for supper. I forgot how much I like pickled sweet and tangy gherkins!

Don’t know how we are going to sleep in this heat, though. I do hope it is going to rain soon.

Written by Maggie

November 11, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read this piece of writing completely regarding the
    difference of most up-to-date and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

  2. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your
    website, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

    My blogging site concerning modern technology: Felicia

    Felicia

    May 9, 2013 at 1:17 am

  3. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really know what you are speaking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my site =). We could have a hyperlink
    change agreement between us

    hostgator coupon

    July 12, 2013 at 1:51 am


Leave a Reply

