Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Some more hair misadventures…

with 2 comments

I haven’t worn my hair in a french-plait since I was in school. Back then, it was my trademark look.

If I do say so myself, I could do a kick-ass french-plait on myself, a skill which I have sadly lost completely and utterly. S’pity.

But with my hair getting longer, I have been remembering how I used to plait it for school.

So the other day, I went for a much needed trim and shape at the hairdresser’s.

When I left, Michael told me (beseechingly), “Please don’t cut it too short”. I love it, how he likes my hair longer. Mainly because I, too, am liking it longer at the moment, so we may as well be in agreement, lol.

Anyway, after my hairdresser had neatened my hair, which was starting to look a little tatty at the ends, I asked her if she wouldn’t mind doing a french plait for me, just for kicks. She obliged and did a pretty good job.

The funniest part was when I saw M again, he could only see the front view, and thought I had it cut short back and sides again. He valiantly tried to keep his disappointment hidden, but was noticeably relieved when he got the back view.

Later that evening, I was huffy with him over some stupid thing (can’t even remember what it was), which was inconvenient, because I wanted someone to take a photo of the back of my head, so I could have a good look, without doing that twisty thing with two mirrors.

I wasn’t going to make peace yet, just so he could take the pic, so I tried to take it myself. Not the easiest thing in the world to do – to take a photo of the back of your own head!

Seriously, this was the best one!

 

Then I got to thinking, surely this sucker (my cell camera) has a timer on it. So I tinkered around with it, and yes,  indeed, it had a timer. That made things a little easier.

Funny thing, it doesn’t look as sophisticated as I remember. It looks… well, deliciously school-girly. 🙂

The front view even more so…

And the side-view, oh my…

I was barricaded in the bathroom, doing all this photography, when I dropped the cellphone into the basin, amid much echoing and clanging. Poor Michael came to the door to enquire if I was alright (even though we had had words). I do love that about him. Even if he’s miffed at me, he still has my back. (I did reply to him that I was fine, of course).

Then it was time to loosen the plait so that I could go to bed. I was hopeful that there would be curls, I’ll admit. What I wasn’t quite prepared for, was The Wild Woman of Borneo!

Even Nina, from Fiela se Kind.

And this, my friends, is why it is a good thing that I don’t have naturally curly hair.

It was like a crazy photo-booth in that bathroom!

Then I got bored, forgave Michael for being a poop and went to bed.

The End.

Written by Maggie

November 12, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love french braids. Also lived in them over the years. It is a nice look on you 🙂 The Vuvuzela Patrice is playing with on my blog was brought to my girls by a friend/co-worker friend who lives in South Africa 🙂

    Charity C (@signingcharity)

    November 14, 2011 at 3:01 am

  2. LOL Looks like you had a good photo session there in the bathroom Maggie 🙂 Your hair looks great like that in a French plait

    Mom

    November 27, 2011 at 11:37 am


Leave a Reply

