Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Time for the real deal…

with 3 comments

I’ve been thinking a lot about my blog lately.

What do I want from it?

It is sort of limping along at present. I post sporadically, of things that have no real relevance to my life, most of the time.

At a stage, I thought it might be nice to have hundreds of hits a day. The competitve side of me, that is.

And sponsonships and advertisers. The ‘work from home and get rich’ brigade are always  hinting at the nice money one can make from a blog.

Bloggers that win awards and get book deals – they’re out there.

I pride myself on being able to cobble together a couple of sentences in such a way that they don’t reek too badly 😉

Anyway… on Saturday night, I starting reading old posts of mine. I read the archives right through 2007 and well into 2008, after which I had to go to sleep because it was 2am!

Back then, I was giving free reign to my need to  journalise my thoughts and day-to-day experiences. I remember finding it immensely therapeutic. I was describing my daily challenges in minutiae.

And this is when the true treasure of my blog revealed itself…

I blog to document my life, first and foremost.

And somewhere along the way, I have made some really great friends, most of which I will probably never meet in real life, but who are as real to me as any of my real-life friends.

I documented extremely difficult stages in my life, the descriptions of which are now proving absolutely invaluable to me in making current decisions.

On top of this, I made whimsical references to things that Michael and I have done, and said to each other, that I can barely recall, but even as I read them, the memories flared in my mind. These things would have been lost to me, had I not written them down on my blog.

And so the goals of blogging became clear to me:

I need to blog about my daily life; things I do and say and get up to. I need to ‘keep it real’.

And post LOTS of photo’s.

Record funny conversations/ events.

Talk about my feelings, my hopes, my dreams. My heartaches, and my joys. Precious memories that would otherwise be lost in the sands of time.

At the end of the day, I want to entertain myself when I read back over the years.

If I can entertain anyone else along the way, and make a new friend or five, that will be an added bonus 😉

So expect things to get a bit more risque, a bit more meaty, a bit more quirky  and a lot more honest around here.

Written by Maggie

November 28, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve also recently read through some of my archives and have been touched by memories long forgotten if it weren’t for my blog.
    I look forward to reading more from you…

    Sharon

    November 29, 2011 at 10:44 am

  2. I think it is a great way like keeping a Diary Maggie. I for one enjoy reading your blog as you have such a way with words 😉

    Mom

    November 29, 2011 at 11:31 am

  3. I totally agree with you. I’d LOVE to have my blog (and the previous one) printed out. I’m so scared of it getting lost in cyber world.

    supermom

    December 4, 2011 at 8:56 am


Leave a Reply

