Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

The festive season is so over…

with 2 comments

I figured I had better start blogging again tonight.

I plan these marathon blog-posts in my head during the day, but then it starts getting late and I think, “Well, I definitely don’t have time to do that involved and lengthy post, and upload all the photo’s for it, etc”.

And instead of doing a quick post, maybe with a little tidbit from my day, I just don’t do it at all.

Not cool 😦

I need to get over this procrastinating habit so that I can become a regular and consistent blogger once again.

Anyway, with that out of the way, let me do a quick recap of my birthday.

Now, my birthday is on the 4th of January, and as it is so close to New Year’s, I never feel that the year has truly started until my birthday. Ha ha.

I just turned 32. How did that even happen? 🙂 Not a bad age though. I feel like it will be a good one. It is already showing promise, with the new job looming, etc.

My birthday was a LOT of fun.

Michael takes a day off work every year to spend it with me and be my love-slave for the day. It’s great, my every wish is his command.

This year though, he was acting kinda grumpy after the new year, so I told him he didn’t have to take off for my b-day.

He said, “Of course I will take off. We have spent our birthdays together our whole married life.” (Nearly 11 years, btw)

It is true. We aren’t big on Christmas, or Valentine’s Day, but we take birthdays serious!

Anyway, I told him, “You misunderstand, I don’t want you to take off work if you are going to be grumpy and ruin my birthday. I’d rather spend it alone.”

He told me I was being facetious and took off work anyway. And I’m SO GLAD he did.

Once again, Michael danced attendance on me and made my special day an occasion to remember.

It has been said about me that I am a bit of a Birthday Monster. Hehehe.

And this is going to sound terrible, but we actually stayed up till midnight and saw my birthday in!

(It wasn’t really intentional, it just worked out that way, but it did thrill me to have Michael hug and kiss me as the clock announced my day of birth. Especially seeing as we didn’t even see the new year in, lol)

Then we slept for seven hours, got up and lazed around for a while, watching tv and chillaxing.

Then a bit of light shopping, which included me buying face-cream at the Clicks Pharmacy, only to return it twenty minutes later because I didn’t like the smell of it. *story of my life!*  Michael was charmingly patient at this extreme provocation, lol.

For lunch, we went to the best (in my opinion) restaurant in town, where I ordered this…

Best pizza ever: Camembert, with steak strips and a cranberry sauce. Very yum. Also, a creme brule milkshake which was revolting. They must have put almond essence into it, because it tasted like marzipan and I absolutely can’t stand marzipan. It still didn’t detract one bit from the pizza; it was that good.

Feeling very convivial after that, we proceeded to my dear parents-in-law’s house, armed with a lemon meringue pie for dessert. That was good, too.

For the afternoon, we went to my parent’s house, where there was a little party waiting for me. My sister Anne, and her little Sarah-Kate, my sister Sonja, her hub and their Christopher and Cayleigh and my parents were all there. More cake was had, and my dad braaied some delicious wors rolls.

After which we had a swim in their pool. This was lovely, as the water temp was around 30 degrees celcius. Michael and I had a ball, with the kids hanging off us and splashing us and my mascara was running all over the place… Good times 🙂

Back home to watch some good Wednesday night tv and snuggle, and proclaim it the best birthday ever!

My birthday batteries have now been recharged until next year, when the birthday monster will emerge once more to be appeased.

Am I the only one, or do you guys also demand special treatment on birthdays?

(And I don’t believe in waiting to see if anyone remembers the date. I advertise well in advance, lol)

Strangely enough, I have only two photo’s taken on my birthday. One is the above pizza, and the other is this little present from my rose garden to me…

Laters 🙂

 

Written by Maggie

January 8, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well you know what a big deal the kids birthdays are! I go all out but the adults? Not so much. We do cake and so but nothing more than a braai like any other weekend. I am glad you had a good birthday

    supermom

    January 9, 2012 at 7:43 am

  2. Happy new year and happy belated birthday!
    May all your hopes and dreams be realized in 2012!

    Sharon

    January 9, 2012 at 9:20 am


Leave a Reply

