Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Glycerine soap

with one comment

Michael and I have used Orchard’s Apple scented soap for years  – it is the only one I can tolerate, with my heightened sensitivity to any artificial fragrance or perfume in a product.

Even the other Orchard soaps: Mango, Lemon, whatever-else-they-have, I can’t bear the smell on my skin, or on Michael’s for that matter. And as I do sleep next to the man, that becomes quite problematic 🙂

The other day I bought myself a Dove moisturising bar, and Michael asked me pointedly why I don’t just take the R10 it cost and flush it straight down the toilet. How well he knows me! He was right, too. I wasn’t keen on the smell of Dove.

Or Protex.

Or Palmolive.

Or Dettol.

But for some reason, I’m okay with Orchard Apple, so that’s what we use. We buy those big bars in large quantities.

But for the last couple of months, they have disappeared off the shelves. I check every time I go to the hypermarket, but there is just a big, empty space where they should be.

I’ve heard that sometimes when they take a product off the shelves, it is because they are bringing out new packaging. I’m holding thumbs that this is the reason.

In the meantime, we’ve been using the fragrance-free glycerine soap that I use to wash my face. Only, it doesn’t last very long and it ain’t that cheap.

So, the other day I was in Health Pharm, looking for my usual brand of fragrance free. They were out of stock, so I eventually bought two fragranced glycerine soaps. Fancy ones 🙂 Blueberry Burst (blue) and Wild Cherry (pink). They smelt okay to me through the packaging, but sometimes that is misleading, as once wet, the soap’s fragrance can erupt. And leave me gasping for breath.

Got home, and tried out the soap to wash my hands, and BOY was I pleasantly surprised. The smell is delicate and delicious and doesn’t bother me at all. And it smells even better on Michael, after his shower, lol.

I am in love with this soap. It is so soft on one’s skin, and the fragrance is so subtle and delightful, not cloying like some brands.

Now, I can’t quite figure out if it’s just that they used a very natural, non-chemical fragrance in the brand, or if it’s the glycerine that acts as a buffer between your skin and whatever chemicals were used. I’m thinking the former.

Whatever – I just hope they don’t EVER stop making it.

Top left is Wild Cherry, Top right is Mint, which I have yet to try but I’m sure will be divine, bottom left is the unfragranced one I use (I think the brand is called Pure) and bottom right is what is left of the Blueberry Burst. The brand name of the nice-smelling ones is Jenam,

By the way, I did not get paid to plug this product, even though it might sound like it, lol.

I just feel so pampered after I’ve bathed. And I am enjoying the nice smell. I’m so used to either smelling like Orchard’s Apple, or nothing at all.

Written by Maggie

January 9, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so glad you got a soap that you like Maggie. xxx

    Mom

    January 12, 2012 at 7:19 pm


Leave a Reply

