Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Rather a good excuse for not blogging.

leave a comment »

That would be when someone actually steals your laptop from your house.

When you were only gone for 55 minutes to go and grab a bite to eat.

And you feel pretty violated and aggrieved, even though you replaced said laptop after only one day, so that in your shell-shocked state you have no wish to blog. Or facebook.

All personal data vanished into thin air 😦

It serves me right. I have said it often and I have said it loud: My laptop is my very favourite material possession.Obviously, the universe does not appreciate such blatant favouritsm. I mean, how must my other appliances feel? Like their mommy doesn’t love them? And it all goes about that blue-eyed boy, the laptop!

After the trauma following the loss of my precious laptop, I have reached a place of strange liberation. The one thing that I always dreaded losing, is gone. And I am okay. It was an inanimate object, not a living, breathing Bear-Dog (to pluck an example out of the air) or an Irreplacable Husband (to pluck another). I mention the Bear-Dog first, because the Irreplacable Husband was with me at the time of the theft, and the two Bear-Dogs were actually at the scene of the crime, where anything could have happened.

I sincerely hope (and this sentiment has rather surprised me) that whoever has my laptop now, will enjoy it as much as I did. It is unlikely that the actual thief still has it is his possession. According to my brother-in-law, a captain in the local police-force, my laptop’s data would have been wiped off within a very short time after its theft, and sold to someone in the seedier part of town. So the person who ended up buying it, while having a suspicion that it was ‘stolen goods’, probably just thought they were getting a good bargain.

Michael’s laptop was also stolen, so we have been going through all these emotions together.

We reckon it was a cheap lesson, as no-one was hurt and nothing else was stolen. (Although my engagement ring is missing, too, so that might have been taken.)

We are going to beef up our security a lot. Already our new laptops are well and truly shackled to the table that they are on. And we have a brand new 500GB portable hard drive for our back-ups.

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.

Anyway, we are no longer in the tiny percentage of South Africans that are unaffected by crime of some sort.

But there was no violence involved, and for that I am so truly thankful!

Tune in tomorrow for the bizarre details of the break-in, as well as some humour that we were able to glean from the whole episode.

 

Written by Maggie

January 24, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

