Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Beary-Bear, the Collie Chow

leave a comment »

Yesterday, while we were out and about on our walk, a lady and her two daughters stopped next to us in their car, to ask us if we had seen their Siamese cat, Sylvester, who has been missing since 28 Jan.

Shame, the lady says she has barely slept since he went missing and is looking for him every day.

(Teddy’s ears pricked up at the mention of the word ‘cat’.)

I assured her that we would keep an eye out, and got her address from her in case.

As we were saying our goodbyes, though, she looked at Beary and said, “What a beautiful dog.” I beamed at that, but then she went on to say, “She’s a cross between a…?” and waited expectantly for me to continue.

“Actually, she’s a thoroughbred,” I said, less beamily.

“Oh, just with the long face, I thought there might be some…”

“Collie?” I supplied.

“Yes!” she said.

“We get it all the time,” I said, “She’s our little Lassie Chow. But her parents are registered Chows, all the same.”

We waved our new friends goodbye and wished them luck with finding their beloved Sylvester.

Michael and I continued the conversation as we went on.

“I don’t care if she’s not 100% Chow. She’s beautiful and I love her,” said Michael.

“Of course!,” I said. “But her previous owner assured me that the parents had papers and we could register her if we wanted to. Still, I wouldn’t be too surprised if there was a collie in the old family tree, somewhere.”

This was naturally all pretty tongue-in-cheek. We aren’t that snobbish.

But we do get it a lot, people wanting to know what Beary is mixed with, lol.

I don’t know what it is, but frankly, I think it improved the breed.

On the other hand, I have seen photo’s of Chows that look exactly like Beary, that are show-Chows. That is just how some of them look.

But remember, they are descended from wolves, which would probably explain the long snout. It’s not the collie-dog coming out – it’s the wolfie 🙂

Check out the sunglasses-tan on that dog ;-p

 

As for Teddy-boy, he is as traditional as they get; no-one ever questions his parentage…

 

But oh, how he loves his Beary. He is inseparable from her! They are quite a striking pair, we attract a lot of attention on the road, as does Michael in his WP rugby jersey…

 

Written by Maggie

February 24, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Posted in Chows, Dogs, Walks

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

