Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Piano vlog :-)

with 3 comments

Okay, so there are two things, no wait, three, that I have been wanting to do on my blog. 1) A vlog. 2) Some footage of me playing the piano. 3) Some footage of me playing the Theme from Hachiko, specifically.

I haven’t used the webcam on my laptop, ever, so I was curious to see if I could use it to make a vlog. I thought I needed webcam software, so have been putting it off by dint of it being a tad time-consuming to procure. Today, I scratched around in my Programs (well, my laptop’s Programs, anyway) and actually found one pre-loaded called Video Web Camera.

When I saw again, I had whiled away the entire afternoon making the daftest vlogs in the history of vlogs. They were pretty funny though, especially the one where I recorded myself for five minutes without being aware of it. That one was hilarious! I might even share it one day šŸ™‚

I tried to video myself playing Hachiko, but the sound was so bad and distorted it was barely recognisable as piano music. The image was crap, too.

Note: We are mildly obsessed with the movie Hachiko. I really need to do a separate post on this. We have watched it at least six times and have sobbed our hearts out every time. And loved doing it, lol. So naturally, I learnt to play the theme song on the piano. For the first while, I could hardly play it without bawling, but I have gotten a grip on myself now šŸ˜‰ (By virtue only of repetition.)

I have let the formal piano exams go this year. That also deserves a post of its own. I’ll get to it some day. But where was I?

Oh, yes, it turned out my webcam is really, really sucky. Both the image and the sound quality are abysmal.

So I waited until Michael got home with his state-of-the-art laptop. At least, it is state-of-the-art compared to mine, lol. But even my high expectations were exceeded when I tried it out. This specific laptop is known particularly for its brilliant sound quality. Like, you can actually hear what it is I am playing.

This was more a ‘testing, testing’ type of video, not really intended to see the light of blog, but it turned out pretty well so I thought, “hey, why not?”

There is not a great deal of fanfare in the introduction, because by this stage I was utterly bored after having done it the whole afternoon. So I kinda launched right into it.

Without further ado, here is the Vlog. Now that I know how to do it, I can do a proper, more chatty one at a later stage.

Written by Maggie

February 24, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Posted in Hachiko, Piano, Vlog

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is stunning. I loved it.

    Melany

    February 25, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  2. Thanks, Mel šŸ™‚

    Maggie

    February 25, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  3. Oh now that brought tears to my eyes.. beautiful Maggie

    xxxx

    Mom

    March 27, 2012 at 11:15 am


Leave a Reply

