Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Domestic goddess, for once.

with 2 comments

I don’t get to say it too often, but I kinda outdid myself in the kitchen tonight.

Michael didn’t come home for lunch, because he had a ton of admin to do at work for month end. So he grabbed a Nando’s burger. And I had a vetkoek from Spar which was surpisingly delicious.

The point is, though, that we weren’t particularly hungry for supper. And as we’d both already had meat for the day, I thought I might just make some pasta. I don’t do the pasta thing a lot, and Michael does enjoy it.

I had bought a jar of readymade All Joy Tomato and Basil pasta sauce earlier. (This was probably the key ingredient.)

So I cooked some spaghetti, and at the same time, diced half a medium sized butternut and steamed it while the pasta was boiling away.

I think both were done in about 15 mins.

I strained the spaghetti, tossed in the butternut chunks, as well as some feta cheese that I had cut into blocks, and then put the whole lot back on the stovetop for a minute or two, along with  a couple of dollops of the pasta sauce from the jar. Then I ground some black pepper on top of it, and some cinnamon (to go with the butternut) and mixed that in, too.

Done. I don’t think it took even twenty minutes.

And boy, was it delicious! I only hope that it wasn’t some supernatural fluke that I can never again replicate, lol.

It really was that good. Even better than the butternut and feta pasta at Panarotti’s 🙂

I think this may become a regular on our menu. It was very tasty, cheap to make and filling. Neither of us felt hungry again, and normally we get a little peckish later on because we go to bed late.

Winner!

 

Written by Maggie

February 27, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Posted in Food

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks tasty!

    Part Time House Wife

    February 27, 2012 at 11:06 pm

  2. I was lucky enough to also eat some of this delicious pasta I just LOVED it.. xxx

    Mom

    March 27, 2012 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

