Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Typical Saturday and a hairdo before and after.

leave a comment »

Today was a typical Saturday, where we didn’t do much, but relaxed a whole lot.

Got into a new TV show, called The New Norm, which we enjoyed a whole lot. America’s Got Talent seems to have taken a bit of dip though. We used to love that show, but it seems to have lost a lot of its magic. Even the addition of Howard Stern as judge isn’t perking it up. We miss Simon Cowell and Piers Morgan!

Ate out for lunch at The Place, which was brilliant! We haven’t been eating well at all this week, with my back being so sore. It’s really been all dribs and drabs of convenience food. So it was nice eating at a quality restaurant, where the food tastes home-made, but way better. Michael had a Biltong & Guacamole burger, which looked like a work of art, and I had a Roast Beef stack, which consists of slices of roast beef, caramelised onions, gherkins, tomato and fancy lettuce on a toasted Italian bread, with side salad and the most delicious chips. It was such a treat. I said to M that we were eating like people who didn’t know where their next meal was coming from, and I was only half joking. My hip is still pretty tender and feels kinda unstable, so I’m not exactly going to be on my feet much in the kitchen yet. And M just plain doesn’t cook. He makes himself toast and that’s it!

Having said that, my back/ hip is feeling the best it has since Monday, when I went to the chiro. It just doesn’t feel 100% in its joint. I probably should go back to the chiro this Monday for a second session, but I just don’t know if I’m up for it. I really don’t want a repeat of this week – I’ve been in a lot of discomfort. I’ll hold my judgement till Monday. Maybe it is in better shape than I think, and just needs a bit of time to heal.

Back to the October catch-up.

I had my hair cut for the first time (apart from trims here and there) in October. I thought the difference was rather dramatic, but no-one really noticed it, lol. Except for Michael, but he knew I was going to the hair-dresser.

I was enjoying my long hair, the longest it has been since I was about 17! But it was also starting to get on my nerves. It was getting too long to really do anything with, apart from tieing it up in a pony-tail or leaving it loose to hang. And at night it was getting in the way and making me feel hot. A bit of a safety hazard, too, as every so often, Michael would roll over in his sleep and get tangled in my hair, or worse, lean on it with his elbow causing me to yelp in pain. Causing him to wake up and freak out, “What?! What?!”

So I decided to have about half its length cut off, to just above my shoulders.

I tried to find a ‘Before’ pic. But the only one taken in October was the one of Beary and I, which I posted in yesterday’s entry, and there my hair is pulled back into a bun.

Then there is this one, of me and one of oldest friends, taken when she came to visit her mother recently and I got to see her for the first time in about 3 years.

 

Can’t really see my hair properly, though, as it’s hanging down my back.

 

Then there was this one taken in July of me and Sarah-Kate, my sister’s little one.

 

And this one taken in August, when Michael and I got to see a bit of snow for the first time in our married lives. (One of our trips to Johannesburg, the timing could not have been better!)

So just imagine another two months’ worth of growth, and that’s how long my hair was. I can’t believe I grew my hair that long and didn’t bother taking hardly any photo’s of it before I cut it.

Anyway, here’s a pic taken the day after I had it cut…

 

I miss the swishy long hair a bit, but overall, the shorter version is much more manageable. Takes half the time to wash and dry, and at least it doesn’t try to garrot me in my sleep 🙂

Written by Maggie

November 3, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

