Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Good day.

leave a comment »

Today was a good day.

My dad is home from hospital and doing really well.

My back is feeling so MUCH better than it was. Nearly ‘back’ to normal šŸ™‚

We had some rain, which was lovely. This afternoon was overcast and perfect weather for camping out on the sofa with a blankie and watching Fried Green Tomatoes. I do appreciate stories from the pen of Fannie Flagg, (bit of an unfortunate name, though, no?) the author who wrote the book that the movie is based on. I’m currently reading her new novel, titledĀ I still dream about you. She has a magical style, just love it.

*I do love my laptop. I just accidentally let its battery run completely flat, and as soon as I plugged it in it resumed to exactly where I was, writing this post. I didn’t lose so much as a syllable! Yay :-D*

I went out briefly during lunch to the local church bazaar to get M & I some Curry & Rice, pumpkin fritters in a toffee sauce and filled savoury pancakes. I love Fridays, because I don’t have to cook, and it is so cheap! R40 for everything and we still had some left for supper.

But the way people areĀ drivingĀ around here lately is shocking! They don’t look for oncoming traffic before reversing out of their drive-ways, they don’t use indicators and they don’t stop at stop streets. Lately, it’s all about rushing to the stop street to get there before the other cars, and if you are the first one, it seems to give you the right to skip the stop sign and just go straight through. No-one is following the road rules anymore. I feel like quite a fuddy-duddy stopping at the stop signs. People love bitching about the government not enforcing it as they should, but I wish more people would take some responsibility on themselves and just follow the damn rules anyway. Is it so hard? (I do catch myself going 80 in a 60 zone when I am in a hurry, so that goes for me too).

Michael and I were watching The New Normal again today. I hate how bigotted people still are with regards to other people’s sexual preferances. I find it very archaic, but anyway. The story I actually want to tell is this. There was a part where the doctor in the show spoke of testing for down’s syndrome at a certain point in pregnancy. Now, I know people are aborting DS babies like there is no tomorrow, due to these early diagnostic tests. I turned to Michael and asked him what he would do if we were ever to fall pregnant with a baby that had down’s syndrome. Without missing a beat, he said, “I would love it to bits.” To which I replied, “And that is why I love you so much!”

Not that marriage is always a bed of roses, hey. We had a quick scuffle just now because he is tired and wanted to go to sleep. I always go to bed later than he does. That’s the ritual; he calls goodnight from the bedroom, and then I go and give him a kiss good night. Which I did tonight, too. But he gave this little dry peck of a kiss. And I insisted on a decent one. I’m not talking a big sloppy french kiss. Just a nice soft kiss where our lips touch for longer than a nano-second. And he just plain didn’t want to co-operate. So I poked him in the ribs, and he pulled a karate-choppy move on my wrist which I didn’t appreciate… So I left the room in a huff, turning off the light as I went. (Oh yes, and the reason he called me into the room was actually to turn on the fan for him, which I had ‘so rudely turned off’. “I’m sorry, should I leave it on all day, then?” I retorted. We only turn that fan on at night, when we sleep.)

Ah, married bliss. It’s so nice to keep the romance alive.

Still, it is really nice to know that our value systems are so alike. I mean, how can you abort a sweet little babe just because it has DS? Talk about archaic šŸ˜¦

Oh, and I’m glad about Obama getting another term. Just saying.

 

Written by Maggie

November 9, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

