Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Veggie garden – part 2

with one comment

My veggie garden is doing alright.

I have a lot of cos lettuce, which is convenient for when I want to make a quick salad.

The tomatoes seem to be doing okay, too and my one lone baby marrow plant has the most adorable baby marrows growing on it.

The gemsquah has been a bit of a trial, I must be honest. It grew so nicely at first.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was so delighted when big, yellow flowers appeared, followed by tiny, wee gemsquashes. Well, that was easy, I told myself.

I counted my gems before they hatched, however.

Before my very eyes, the little gems turned yellow, shrivelled up and dropped off. The disappointment!

This kept up for some weeks. My neighbour asked me how they (the gems) were doing and I woefully told her that all I had were little, stunted gems that dropped clean off the plant.

She told me that is normal gemsquash behaviour, and that in due time they would stop going yellow and dropping off, and instead get nice and big and green and stay on the plant.

I’m really holding thumbs that she is right.

It’s looking promising, because I currently have this nice specimen that is hanging in there…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apart from this plant that is in a pot, I have another three planted in the ground that are looking healthier and more settled. I put two garden chairs over them when I planted the seedlings to protect them from the dogs…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think there are a fair number of gems hiding in there, but the leaves are so prickly I don’t really want to scratch around much 🙂

What is really cute are the little tendrils that the plant uses to climb on stuff. They have attached themselves to the chairs and are holding on tight – too cute…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tendrils remind me so much of Cinderella’s pumpkin coach. Look at how they have latched onto the chair here:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gardening is a lot of fun, but I feel a lot of the time that I don’t really know what I’m doing 🙂

Anyone have any tips on growing gemsquash for me?

Written by Maggie

November 25, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They are looking so healthy Maggie 🙂 My lettuce isn’t amounting to anything .. maybe you can spare me one every now and then ;))

    Mom

    November 26, 2012 at 6:52 am


Leave a Reply

