Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

28 Novemeber

leave a comment »

Three posts left till the successful completion of my goal.

I was going for quantity, not quality, but I do hope that it has been habit-forming to do a little post every day, whether I have much to say or not 🙂

I forgot to mention yesterday that supper included two baby gems and two baby marrows out of my garden and they were delicious. The skin on the baby marrows was so thick and green and glossy, and for once I could eat it without worrying what pesticides had been sprayed all over it. And even though I didn’t spray anything on them, they were perfect, without so much as a mark or a nibble by a bug. I took a photo, of course, but will have to upload it at a later stage. (When I’m not busy reading the last chapter of my Maeve Binchy book 🙂 )

We didn’t go to Pretoria to see the roses after all. We decided it really is too far to go for breakfast, and I confessed to Michael that while I still like roses just fine, I’m no longer completely obsessed with them. Meaning that I’d like to pop by to see the rose farm one day when we are in the vicinity, but not make a special (6 hour round trip) trip to see them. I definitely don’t want to add to my rose collection at this point. They are keeping me plenty busy, the 36 I already have.

There was a time when I lacked the ability to go to town without buying a rose plant. I think it was my saving grace when I was so sick with the MS. It kept me busy and gave me something to look forward to and talk about. And dream about and fantasise about, lol. I had it bad. Michael called it Rose Fever. Anyway, it’s passed now. I still love roses, but I no longer count every bud on every bush. Which is a pity, because I suspect they number over a thousand now during a good flush 🙂

Our complex gardener comes to do our garden on a Wednesday. I asked him to please dig out one of the roses that is planted in the ground, which he did for me very nicely.

It is my Princess Margaret rose, which is a stunning phlox pink rose. Sadly, the drainage in the soil is not what it should be and that plant has not made a single bloom this season. The plant is not looking that healthy and is going steadily backwards.

But as of today, it has been transplanted into a lovely new pot, in some special rose-planting mix. I definitely need to take a before photo of it, because I suspect that the ‘after’ photo is going to be good.

The same thing happened to my Blue Moon rose. It wasn’t blooming at all in the ground, and since being in a pot, is covered in beautiful silvery-lilac roses. I will take a photo of it tomorrow.

Now, as much as I would like to continue with  this train of thought, I am getting tired, and I would like to finish my story book. So if you’ll be kind enough to excuse me, I will see you again tomorrow 🙂

Written by Maggie

November 28, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

