Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Return to blogging, and some news.

with 3 comments

It has been way too long. So many blog posts floating around in my head, but none of them had the impetus needed for me to kick-start the old blog again. Until now, that is.

Biggest, most surprising news I have ever shared….

Michael and I are expecting a baby, sometime during Winter 2014.

Pee-stick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not the best photo, but those two lines are undeniable 🙂

That was the 20th of November, when I got it into my head to take a home pregnany test. After the third positive one, it began to sink in. (I whatsapped Michael this photo after doing the first one, and he was pretty shocked at work, lol)

The next day, I went for the official blood test, which confirmed that yes, I was pregnant, and in fact, 7-8 weeks.

I couldn’t resist going for another blood test a week later, and then it was adjusted to 6-7 weeks, which was much more believable and realistic to me. The doc apparently got it wrong with the first test.

The lab sister had a look at the results of the first test and immediately said that the levels were at 5-6 weeks then, so it all adds up.

Which means I am now 7-8 weeks. Yay.

I took my last Gilenya capsule the day of the home test (20 November).

For this reason, I barely slept the night after the blood test confirmed everything. I was not supposed to get pregnant while on the Gilenya trials! I was supposed to be on two forms of contraceptives (not even close, heehee).

I was so worried.

But the next day,my friend in the USA, Jeri, put my mind at rest. She has been on the trials as long as I have, and is now involved with Novartis’ talks that she gives to MS patients considering their drug choices. She told me she has heard plenty of anecdotal stories from doctors of women who had babies after being exposed to Gilenya at some point and they and their babies were fine! I also phoned my neurologist, who is the trial co-ordinator for Novartis in SA and he said the same thing. No adverse events reported. Babies were fine!

Disclaimer: This is by no means a go ahead for women on Gilenya who wish to fall pregnant. You need to discuss it with your doctor first! Don’t be a maverick, like me.

I have chosen to believe that baby will be fine and healthy. And luckily I did stop the meds at 5-6 weeks! It could have taken me a lot longer for the penny to drop, as I have had precious little pregnancy symptoms, and my cycle has not been regular lately. (Which has a fair amount to do with how it came about that I am pregnant, I think).

Anyway, I think this is long enough for my first blog post in such a long time.

Let me just end off by saying that we are both absolutely thrilled, and can’t wait for this next chapter in our lives 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Maggie

December 5, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 🙂 now soon you will be a mommy blogger!

    Melany

    December 5, 2013 at 8:58 pm

  2. Good to see you blogging again :)). We are SO excited about the baby

    Mom Archer

    December 5, 2013 at 9:07 pm

  3. Congratulations Maggs!!! How very exciting!!!!!

    Sharon

    December 22, 2013 at 7:18 am


Leave a Reply

