Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

2013 was a pretty good year :-)

leave a comment »

I have enjoyed it.

Never more so than right now..

I never thought pregnancy would be like this. For one, I pretty much assumed I would have morning sickness. It seems that I am of the lucky 25% that doesn’t get it. Yay. The closest I have come is a feeling of my stomache being vaguely unsettled when I haven’t eaten in a long time. Usually right before lunch. It disappears as soon as I have the first bite to eat. But even that has disappeared completely. Excuse the glee 🙂

I have had days when I have felt really tired and had to go and have a lie down. And I’ve been going to bed earlier than usual. That seems to be passing too though.

What else? My breasts look amazing! 🙂 I’ve been told it’s kinda downhill from here, what with the stretch marks and the breast-feeding taking its toll, so I am enjoying it while it lasts. It’s all I can do not to take a photo of the girls and put it on facebook, hahaha. (I would never do that!)

I pee on an extremely regular basis, but not more so than before. MS bladder is worse than pregnancy bladder any day of the week, and it has conditioned me. If I go anywhere, I know exactly where the toilets are, that is my life and I am used to it. If anything, I think my bladder is better than it was before. I don’t neccessarily expect that to last, but my point is that it is not a symptom I have noticed as of yet.

Speaking of my MS, it is deliciously absent at present. This is pretty much to be expected during pregnancy, but is not a given. When I first found out I was pregnant, I had some stress to deal with from various sources, and I was experiencing some old MS symptoms. I’ve eased into things now though, and am enjoying this most precious time in our lives, and the symptoms are gone. I will do what it takes to keep it that way.

I will go for my first doctor/ gynae appointment and scan early in January. At least then we will have an idea of my due date! I was naughty not to keep track of things properly, but as I mentioned before, my cycle has been rather irregular and I just can’t remember when it last was. I do recall that I had a sort of double period, which in retrospect was probably an implantation thing. Oops. 🙂

Michael and I are terribly excited! He is having a very difficult time at work, but is still downloading pregnancy apps onto his iPad. We have a great one called In the Womb (or Life in the Womb) and it shows what baby looks like week by week. But in 3D, in exquisite detail. Also shows exactly what is developing at any given time.

He is watching pregnancy programs on tv with me (or should I say, I am watching them with him!) 🙂 He is so involved; I love it! He says time is standing still, and these are going to be the longest months of his life 🙂

I, for one, am glad I still have plenty of time. I have SO much to do. More on that later, but it’s quite entrepreneural 😉

I have been looking forward to having a baby since I was about 12. That is the one thing I resented most about MS, that it had made planning for a baby almost impossible. I think it has taken till now for me to be healthy enough to carry the baby (without it being a real, real battle).

I always had it in my head that I would have my first baby at 34. A bit of a cut off time in my head. Yikes, and it was getting closer. I had these plans to get off the MS meds and do a pre-conception diet and exercise regime. Hah! In the end, I was chicken to quit the meds on 29 October (my last neuro appointment) like I had planned. A pity I didn’t, because unbeknownst to me, I was already pregnant at the time. I was just scared that I would go off the meds, it would take longer than planned to conceive, and then I would start relapsing, having to treat with cortisone, etc. etc. Somewhere along the line, it was all taken out of my hands. I am so glad and so excited and thrilled and ecstatic and living my dream. I refuse to be negative over any aspect of this miracle!

It has taken some getting used to, not taking my MS meds every morning. A bit scary, that. Luckily, I have been able to replace it with my prenatal vitamins. I have not skipped one day since I found out 🙂 I could be eating better though 😦 I am on a pretty carb-based diet at the moment. I need to eat more fresh stuff, more fruits, more veggies! At least I’ve cut out 90% of sugary foods, which is very unlike me. They just don’t go down as well as they used to. Baby doesn’t seem to like it when I eat sweets. I’ve lost my appetite for them, which is great. Not much nutritional value, and does more harm than good.

I’ll probably update again after my first scan. Till then, have a very Merry Christmas and a lovely new year, to everyone who reads this 🙂

Written by Maggie

December 21, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

