Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

12 week scan.

with 4 comments

Like Michael said, one of the most magical days of our marriage 🙂 Seeing our little babe has made it so real.

Bottom right is the 4D scan, in which baby’s knees are bent and arms folded in front of her/ her face:

12 week scan.2

And everything looks perfect!!! I am so grateful. My heart is filled with gratitude. My little one is healthy and normal. All I hoped for. And very cute 🙂

Due date is 10 July, and we’re now at 12 weeks and 3 days.

The doctor said he doesn’t like the look of my placenta. I was immediately worried, and said, “Why?”

Apparently, it is right at the bottom of my uterus (“like an ice-cream cone” the doctor said. ?!!

He said the gynaecologist will probably want me to have a c-section because of where it’s situated.

Oh, is that all? No problem. I’d actually quite like that decision taken out of my hands, lol. C-section it is.

He couldn’t tell us the gender with any certainty yet, but did say he thinks it’s a male baby.

He wouldn’t commit to a percentage value, just said we’ll know at 16-17 weeks.

I must admit, even though I have been saying it’s a girl, if I picture myself with the baby after the birth, the vision that comes up is of a beautiful baby boy.

Oh well, we’ll know soon enough 😉

The 4D scanner is amazing! The doctor really knows his stuff. As soon the scanner wand thingy touched my stomach, our baby was on the screen, clear as daylight. It was so wonderful. And the little heartbeat. I was simultaneously blinking back a tear and smiling my head off. Michael, too. It was profound.

I discussed my MS symptoms with the doc, and he said I can take cortisone, but to preferably wait until 18 weeks to take it.

I researched it on the internet and it’s generally considered safe in pregnancy.

I’m hoping nad praying that these symptoms will go away on their own and won’t be an issue.

But I really can’t take the chance of losing the use of my right hand. I’m all too aware that MS doesn’t always give back what it takes.

I am actually pretty confident that it will come right on it’s own, though, once this heat wave abates. Fingers crossed.

Written by Maggie

January 6, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh your baby is just beautiful. I can just imagine how excited you both are about your little one. This Granny dan not wait to meet him/her

    XxxxxX

    Mom Archer

    January 6, 2014 at 9:33 pm

  2. Wonderful! I am so very very happy for you!

    Sharon

    January 7, 2014 at 8:21 am

  3. I am so excited for you!
    I am praying that your MS symptoms will dissipate so that you can enjoy your pregnancy.

    BeingAngel

    January 8, 2014 at 2:38 pm


Leave a Reply

