Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Really bad week.

with 5 comments

It was the best of times; it was the worst of times…

Dickens knew his sh*t!
It can simultaneously be the most joyous, excited time of your life, and also the most terrifying and miserable.
I was so deliriously happy after the 4D scan that it took me a while to return to earth and really notice what was happening to my body.
In the space of a week and a bit, I was pretty floored by the MS.
My walking and balance were quite bad and I was extremely fatigued in the midday heat. Like, I will go and lie down now or I will fall down. Sleep was restless and ‘twitchy’.
Most worrying was my right hand. I could very barely hold a pen to scrawl something unintelligible. I looked like a stroke victim if I tried to feed myself. Couldn’t brush my teeth with that hand. Couldn’t straighten my fingers properly. I didn’t try but it is doubtful if I could have played as much as a note or two on the piano. And I definitely couldn’t type.
Terrifying.
If it was just me, I probably would have been and gone for the cortisone drip already.
But it was not just me, and I couldn’t do it. The gynae gave me the go ahead, but my neurologist said ‘no way, José!’ Later in the pregnancy, yes, but not now while there was till so much developing.
I was distraught! And felt so sick. Couldn’t leave the house for days, I was too weak and fragile.
Then, as of yesterday, things started improving. I feel MUCH better. I can tolerate this extreme heat we’re having a lot better, and my hand is improving. It’s not 100% yet, but so much improved. I’m hopeful that I’ll be back where I was in a couple of days.
So what was it? I think my original theory of the increase in body temp might have been spot on. Hormone fluctuations, anybody?
I’m just glad it appears to be getting better.
Side note: I would have updated sooner, but trying to type stressed me out too much. It’s still not brilliant, but I can get by, at least.
Written by Maggie

January 13, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We are very Thankful you are feeling better xxx

    Mom Archer

    January 13, 2014 at 5:52 pm

  2. Sounds HORRID! SO glad you’re feeling better!

    Sharon

    January 14, 2014 at 11:24 am

    • Thx, Shaz. I feel like I was overreacting, and then I remember, actually it was that bad. So glad to be feeling better!

      Maggie

      January 14, 2014 at 12:17 pm

  3. I am so glad you’re feeling better!

    Angel

    January 15, 2014 at 10:30 pm


Leave a Reply

