Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Week 19

with 4 comments

Pregnancy going really well. Bump is coming along nicely. Still don’t have any side-effects from pregnancy that are bothering me at all, and for this I am truly grateful.

My MS on the other hand is a different story.

I’m actually really disappointed, because in the majority of cases, MS becomes pretty much dormant during pregnancy. I had sort of accepted that and it was definitely not among any worries that I may have had. Within six months post-partum, there is statistically a good chance of relapsing. I was not concerned about this, as by then I could take any medication I needed to, without worrying about a little fetus getting some cortico-steroids in.

That is not the case at the moment, however. I am fairly miserable and frankly, could do with a course of IV steroids. This is not my first rodeo and I’m not thrilled to be revisiting this particular part of my life.

That familiar sensation of my world shrinking in around me is, as I lose the abilty to walk comfortably and as far as I’d like, is not a nice feeling.

Basically, how my MS is manifesting at the moment, is muscle fatigue and a noticeable loss of vision.

I have an extremely limited amount of time that I can spend on my feet, either standing or walking.

if I go beyond a certain threshold, then I end up exacerbating, which is a short-lived (two to three hours) worsening of my symptoms to the degree that I can hardly walk or balance at all and my vision dims. Yesterday, I even had a brief spell of not being able to breath comfortably.

This has happened like clockwork every day this week.

I’ve barely been out the house.

If this was the first time it happened, I’d probably be a lot more terrified/ depressed. But i’ve been here before and at this stage, I can still cope.

I will be taking it (even) easier and resting as much as possible.

I will not be taking steroids at this point. I’m still optimistic that it might go away on its own, due to the pregnancy hormones that are supposed to be protective.

I’m going to take it week by week.

Written by Maggie

March 1, 2014 at 11:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am so sorry this is happening to you Maggie. I was also hoping and praying you would be fine during the pregnancy with your MS. Please rest as much as you can and if I can help with meals or washing just let me know. Thinking about you xoxoxoxoxox

    Mom Archer

    March 1, 2014 at 11:53 am

    • Thanks so much, Mom. It’s good to know I have your support 🙂

      Maggie

      March 2, 2014 at 8:51 pm

  2. I am so sorry you’re battling with the MS… Considering how well you’re pregnancy is going this should be a glorious time for you.
    I pray it gets better.

    BeingAngel

    March 1, 2014 at 6:25 pm


Leave a Reply

