Maggsbunny

Blogging Bunny-style

Taking strain

with 8 comments

This pregnancy is much harder than i would have ever thought possible.

I have been relaping since January, and it is getting bad now. Not helped by the dizzy spells of positional low blood pressure!

On the one hand, I have my OB/GYN heartily recommending a short course of corticosteroids.

On the other hand, my neurologist, who is hesitant to give the go-ahead.

And then there is the sonar pic of the most beautiful little girl ever, who has stolen my heart and continues to do so with every movement in my belly.

On a practical notre, I am virtually house-bound. I am also hugely dependant on Michael, which is awkward as he isn’t here for most of the day. I can’t do any household chores, including cooking. Bathing is a scary endevour. Showering completely out of the question.

I fantasise about taking medicine to get better, especially before the caesarian section, scheduled 17 July. It would be bliss to feel better by then.

The medical profession seems to be rather divided about taking cortisone while pregnant. But generally it is considered safe for baby and necessary if the mom clearly needs it.

I am so conflicted. But things have  regressed quite a lot since last week. I can’t sit in the garden anymore. Too wobbly.

I wish the ms would just bugger off and leave me in peace.

This baby was somewhat on the unplanned side, although we were admittedly (and intentionally, probably) being a tad reckless.But I wouldn’t swap her for anyting in the world. I love her so much.

Which is why I want to be able to care for her properly once she is here.

Like I said, this is really hard.

Maybe I should follow my Ob/Gyn’s advice. He is the expert, after all.

Written by Maggie

May 24, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah Maggs… Its a tough call. And perhaps excellent preparation for motherhood since you’re going to be trying to make the best decision for your little girl for the rest of your life! 😀
    I’m curious though – what does someone with asthma do if they fall pegnant? I am on a cortisone inhaler twice a day, without it I literally can’t breathe.

    BeingAngel

    May 25, 2014 at 8:03 am

    • Hi Angel. I’m pretty sure that women with asthma are advised to continue using their pumps during pregnancy. For one thing,not being able to breathe and oxygenate baby is really bad. Also, the dosage is significantly smaller than the dosages I would have to take. Not in the same ballpark.

      Maggie

      May 25, 2014 at 9:05 pm

  2. I don’t know what happened to my reply maybe I never sent it lol. Maggie like your friend very correctly said it is the first of many many decisions you are going to gave to make for Vivienne. I feel your Ob/gyn surely should know know best. Why don’t you phone Dr Isaac and ask him his reasons for not wanting you to get cortisone ?
    On another note please remember we are a minute away from you and can and will come and help you if you need it with bathroom duties or anything else xxx

    Mom Archer

    May 25, 2014 at 11:59 am

    • Tahnks, Mom. I know I can count on you for support. ♥

      Maggie

      May 25, 2014 at 9:06 pm

  3. Hi Maggie, I have to say that with all the (LOTS) pregnancy knowledge and experience I have I would be inclined to follow the OB/GYN’s advice here. They are the experts on what is/isn’t safe wrt specifically to pregnancy. I would think your neuro is playing it really safe, but the gyn will have a better idea if that ‘drug’ is ok or not.

    Also how different are these steroids to the ones they administer to moms with preterm labour to stimulate baby’s lung maturity earlier..? If it’s the same/similar then that’s used pretty often in pregnancy (even prophylactically at times), often with life-saving consequences to baby. Sure I wouldn’t recommend it be used routinely or just cos, but in your case it really sounds like it could be warranted..?

    Is there a compromise at all? For you to maybe take a really low dose for SOME relief. The last weeks of pregnancy are tough enough without added complications and debilitating discomfort.

    *HUGS*

    Good luck and I hope you do get some relief, and/or that the symptoms all disappear as soon as your angel arrives!

    janefraser101

    May 26, 2014 at 8:41 am

    • Hi Jane. Thx for your comment!
      You pretty much sum up what I weigh up every day. If I do take it, it will be at a much lower dosage than what is prescribed. The steroids given to babies to strengthen their lungs is at a much smaller dosage, and is a bit of a different kind. The one I take (IV Solu-medrol) has some unpleasant side-effects. And I just hate to think of that tiny body being subjected to it. At this stage, with 7 weeks to go (and counting!) I figure if I’ve come this far, I may as well see if through to the end. This is subject to change on a daily basis, depending on how miserable I feel 🙂 My MS has always been influenced by hormonal changes, so I’m hoping like mad that it comes right after the birth! Scary though. Side-effects for baby include, at best, low birth weight and possible (reversible) adreno-insufficiency. It is the unknown future effects that really worry me. However, if my MS gets worse, I will really have no choice.

      Maggie

      May 26, 2014 at 10:14 am

      • I believe it is world MS day today. Thinking of you and hope you are feeling better. At the very least I hope the relative coolth of winter is helping you and giving you some relief. xxx

        janefraser101

        May 28, 2014 at 12:47 pm

  4. Thanks, Jane. Slipped my mind – MS day. My body temperature is doing crazy things. At a stage last night I got so cold. Then promptly overheated and had to throw off all bed-covers. My neuro is away, but I will speak to him tomorrow. Hopefully get some answers.

    Maggie

    May 28, 2014 at 4:24 pm


Leave a Reply

